Attorney For Respiratory Therapists In Texas


If you have questions about a license defense issue, call to schedule a free legal consultation with a respiratory therapists attorney, (512) 829-5619.

In Texas, respiratory therapists are regulated by the Texas Medical Board (TMB). Anyone can file a complaint with the medical board, and suddenly you might find yourself embroiled in a legal process that could impact your job, your career opportunities, your earning potential, even your ability to continue to practice as a respiratory therapist.

At Keaney Law, we help healthcare professionals, including respiratory therapists, defend their professional licenses. Kevin Keaney has more than 30 years experience as an attorney. Before he became a lawyer, he earned his BSN from the University of Texas at Austin and practiced as a Registered Nurse for four years.

We can assist in all phases of the license defense process, including:

  • response to the complaint letter from the Texas Medical Board
  • investigation by the board
  • informal settlement conference
  • negotiations for disciplinary actions (Agreed Orders)
  • hearings with an administrative law judge (ALJ)
  • mediation
  • appeals
  • compliance with an Agreed Order or probation

The most common types of complaints against respiratory care therapists in Texas include:

  • improper care
  • improper documentation of care
  • violation of boundaries (including sexual misconduct)
  • fraud
  • substance abuse or addiction
  • criminal convictions
  • expired respiratory care practitioner licenses

For more information about protecting your respiratory care practitioner license or to schedule a free consultation, call (512) 829-5619, or e-mail

Please note that in addition to helping respiratory therapists in Texas defend their professional licenses, we also provide license defense services for: physicians, pharmacists, dentists, chiropractors, and social workers.

Our law office is in the Austin area, and we represent nurses from all across Texas, including: Dallas, Houston, San Antonio, El Paso, Amarillo, and Lubbock.